ImageTuesday night, I went to the gym at 9pm, because that is when Parenthood comes on television. I like to sync my workout schedule with my TV schedule. This way, I can trick myself into wanting to walk miles without actually going anywhere. Reading is my favorite means of escape, but reading on a treadmill is impossible, right?

I tried it a few weeks ago, and failed miserably. I couldn’t walk in a straight line, I had trouble keeping the book open, and I felt like I was reading in a car that was going 90 mph. I looked like an idiot and thought I was going to be sick.

ImageThat is why I was completely amazed when I looked over to the girl next to me Tuesday night. She was reading Night by Elie Wiesel, and she didn’t fall off the treadmill. She may have even been walking faster than me. I was amazed.

Sadly, I did not ask her how she didn’t get nauseous or fall off, because that would have been awkward.

Image

As of now, I have given up on reading at the gym. However, if this is possible, time spent working out would be much more enjoyable. Maybe someday in the future, I will have enough talent and coordination to read a book while walking. Tonight I will leave my books at home and watch Grey’s Anatomy.

If anyone knows how to read at the gym without potentially falling off the equipment, please let me know how this is done.

Book Nerd at the Gym

Leave a comment